Six Symptoms of Art Addiction

Six Symptoms of Art Addiction

The other day I was perusing the catalogue for an upcoming major art auction while enjoying my morning latte when I suddenly had a moment of self reflection where I realised that pretty much every part of my day has something to do with art. I am by no means suggesting that this is a bad thing, in nicholas forrestfact being able to wake up every morning knowing that I get to spend the day indulging my passion for art is something that I am very thankful for. I don’t think that I would be happy unless I was involved in something art related every day which led me to the conclusion that I am addicted to art. It’s not that I have been in denial or anything but because I am so used to being immersed in the art world I was not aware that I was exhibiting the symptoms of art addiction. So now that I have bared my soul I am sure you are all wondering what the symptoms of art addiction are, well, here you go:

1.You own a credit card that is just for purchasing art:
Yes, that’s right, I have a credit card that is only used for purchasing art so that I can keep track of what I have purchased, where I made the purchase and how much I have spent. If anyone from Sothebys reads this I wouldn’t mind getting one of those Sothebys credit cards, I’ll even give the card a plug on my blog!!

2.Your book shelf is filled with art auction catalogues:
I love auction catalogues because they not only have information on the artist and artwork but also on the value of the works in the auction. The majority of space on my bookshelf is taken up by my treasured collection of art auction catalogues which gets bigger by the day.

3.You end up conducting private tours when you visit a gallery:
Whenever I go to a public gallery I inadvertently seem to always strike up a conversation with someone about art which leads to me divulging my profession which leads to people asking me questions about an artwork which leads to further questions etc., etc., etc.

4.Your bedroom is known as “the gallery”:
Well I love art so it would be logical for my room to be filled with art, right?

5.You researched your family history just to see if you are related to any artists:
Go on, laugh as much as you like, I am not ashamed of the fact that I researched my family history just to see if I was related to any artists. Just for the record I am related to a maritime artist who went by the name of “Ships Raynor”, so there!!!

6.Your favourite tv show is Antiques Roadshow:
Ahhh, there is nothing I enjoy more than sitting down in front of the tele with a nice coffee and watching an episode of the Antiques Roadshow. How could one not be enthralled by the beautiful objects of art and the associated history and stories.

Could you be an art addict too……..

Nick**Nicholas Forrest is an art market analyst, art critic and journalist based in Sydney, Australia. He is the founder of artmarketblog.com, writes the art column for the magazine Antiques and Collectables for Pleasure and Profit and contributes to many other publications.

7 Responses

  1. Nicholas, your entry on addiction was good to read. It is also refreshing to see that collecting is as impassioned as making art or at least for some. My partner (another artist) is employed at an on line auction house as a photographer. It could be another catalog on your desk if it isn’t allready.
    http://www.litchfieldcountyauctions.com

  2. cool blog :)

  3. Dear Bob,

    Thanks for the comment and the link. I will definitely be adding that catalogue to my bookshelf.

    Thanks
    nicholas forrest

  4. hi my name is ming, and i’m an artohollic

  5. Hi Ming,
    thanks for visiting

    Nicholas Forrest

  6. I too am addicted and have no regrets……..cheers

  7. For all you art addicts!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

